This platform is an initiative of five Congolese civil society organisations: the Congolese Association for Access to Justice (ACAJ), Action for Transparent and Peaceful Elections (AETA), Filimbi, Congolais Débout, and Fight for Change (Lucha).

To contact us:
+243 974 23 33 90
info@electionsrdcongo.com

Gérard Mulumba, alias Gecoco

Gérard Mulumba, alias Gecoco

About

Arrested on 10 November 2017, this former member of the ruling party (he left the PPRD in 2011) is accused of insulting the head of state. Intelligence agents of the Republican Guard allegedly found an insulting message in Tshiluba against president Joseph Kabila on the phone of his collaborator Isaac Kabundi, allegedly sent by Gerard Mulumba Kongolo, aka Gecoco.

He is also blamed for having walked out on the PPRD to join the UDPS, Étienne Tshisekedi’s party, and for having built a bridge in the district of Kingabwa, in Limete, as a tribute to the historic Congolese opposition leader. Gecoco was initially detained at Tshatshi camp where he was beaten and ill-treated before being transferred to the ANR where he was held in poor conditions. He was then transferred to the Ngaliema clinic because his health was deteriorating. According to his doctors, Gérard Mulumba should undergo a kidney transplant in Belgium.

Prosecuted for “contempt of the head of state” and “damaging statements”, Gecoco was tried and sentenced to 18 months in prison. This sentence was confirmed on appeal. On 13 April, against his doctor’s advice, he was taken back to Kinshasa’s Central Prison, before being sent back to the Ngaliema clinic a month later. Despite persistent health problems, he returned to his prison cell on 1 June.

Arrested the same day as his leader, Isaac Kabundi was detained in Kinshasa prison. He was sentenced to the same punishment as Gecoco.

Share Button

Cette plateforme est une initiative de cinq organisations de la société civile congolaise : l’Association congolaise pour l’accès à la justice (ACAJ), Agir pour des élections transparentes et apaisées (AETA), Filimbi, Les Congolais débout, et la Lutte pour le changement (Lucha).
Pour nous contacter :
+243 971 422 656
info@electionsrdcongo.com

Gérard Mulumba, alias Gecoco

Gérard Mulumba, alias Gecoco

Ancien député et ex-cadre du PPRD

Résumé de l'affaire

Arrêté le 10 novembre 2017,  cet ancien député du parti au pouvoir (il a quitte le PPRD en 2011) est accusé d’offense au chef de l’État. Des éléments de renseignement de la Garde républicaine auraient trouvé sur le téléphone de son collaborateur Isaac Kabundi un message injurieux en tshiluba à l’endroit du président Joseph Kabila que Gérard Mulumba Kongolo, alias Gecoco, aurait envoyé.

Il lui serait reproché également le fait d’avoir claqué la porte du PPRD pour adhérer à l’UDPS, parti d’Étienne Tshisekedi et d’avoir construit un pont dans le quartier de Kingabwa, à Limete, à l’hommage au leader historique de l’opposition congolaise. Gecoco a d’abord été détenu au camp Tshatshi où il a été battu et maltraité, avant d’être transféré à l’ANR où il a été détenu dans de mauvaises conditions. Il sera ensuite transféré à la clinique Ngaliema, car sa santé se détériorait. D’après ses médecins, Gérard Mulumba devrait été des reins en Belgique.

Poursuivi pour « outrage au chef de l’État » et d' »imputation dommageable », Gecoco a été jugé et condamné à 18 mois de prison. Cette peine a été confirmée en appel. Le 13 avril, contre l’avis de son médecin, il est reconduit à la prison centrale de Kinshasa, avant d’être renvoyé de nouveau, un mois plus tard, à la clique Ngaliema. Malgré des problèmes de santé persistants, il est retourné, le 1er juin, dans sa cellule carcérale.

Arrêté le même jour que son leader, Isaac Kabundi a été détenu à la prison de Kinshasa. Il a été condamné à la même peine que Gecoco.

Share Button