This platform is an initiative of five Congolese civil society organisations: the Congolese Association for Access to Justice (ACAJ), Action for Transparent and Peaceful Elections (AETA), Filimbi, Congolais Débout, and Fight for Change (Lucha).

To contact us:
+243 974 23 33 90
info@electionsrdcongo.com

Franck Diongo

Franck Diongo

MP and party chairman

About

Arrested on 19 December 2016, the last day of president Kabila’s second and last term pursuant to the Constitution, after he and his colleagues allegedly seized, detained and beat three soldiers from the Republican Guard dressed as civilians. Elected member of parliament Franck Diongo was detained in several places and claims that he was severely beaten over the next few days, including at the Tshatshi military camp and the headquarters of military intelligence in Kinshasa. According to the United Nations, this leader of the Progressive Lumumbist movement (MLP, an opposition party) was “subjected to cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment” while detained by military intelligence agents.

On 28 December, during a summary trial at which he appeared in a wheelchair and on a drip as a result of ill-treatment suffered during his arrest, the DR Congo Supreme court of justice sentenced him to five years in prison for “arbitrary arrest” and “aggravated illegal detention” without possible appeal.

In June, his lawyers submitted a statement on his behalf to the UN Working Group on Arbitrary Detention. On 21 June 2017, while other prisoners were registering and without providing a reason, the director of the prison registration centre did not allow Franck Diongo to register, a prerequisite before any participation in upcoming elections.

With his health deteriorating, Franck Diongo was transferred on 18 August 2017 to a specialised medical centre. But during the treatment, he was brutally removed from his hospital bed on 31 August 2017 and returned to Kinshasa’s central prison. Diongo is still detained there. His state of health is worsening.

Share Button

Cette plateforme est une initiative de cinq organisations de la société civile congolaise : l’Association congolaise pour l’accès à la justice (ACAJ), Agir pour des élections transparentes et apaisées (AETA), Filimbi, Les Congolais débout, et la Lutte pour le changement (Lucha).
Pour nous contacter :
+243 971 422 656
info@electionsrdcongo.com

Franck Diongo

Franck Diongo

Député et président de parti

Résumé de l'affaire

Arrêté le 19 décembre 2016, le dernier jour du second et dernier mandat du président Kabila, selon la Constitution, après que ses collègues et lui auraient appréhendé, détenu et battu trois militaires de la Garde républicaine habillés en civil. Le député Franck Diongo est détenu dans plusieurs endroits et affirme qu’il a été sévèrement battu les jours suivants, y compris au camp militaire Tshatshi et au siège du renseignement militaire à Kinshasa. Selon les Nations Unies, ce leader du Mouvement lumumbiste progressiste (MLP, parti d’opposition) a été « soumis à des traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants » lorsqu’il était détenu par des agents du renseignement militaire.

Le 28 décembre, au cours d’un procès expéditif lors duquel il comparaît en fauteuil roulant et sous perfusion, à la suite de mauvais traitements endurés lors de son arrestation, la Cour suprême de justice de la RD Congo le condamne à cinq ans de prison pour « arrestation arbitraire » et « détention illégale aggravée », sans possibilité de faire appel de ce jugement.

En juin, ses avocats soumettent une communication en son nom au Groupe de travail des Nations unies sur la détention arbitraire. Le 21 juin 2017, alors que d’autres prisonniers se faisaient enrôler et sans donner aucune raison, le directeur du centre d’enrôlement de la prison n’autorise pas Franck Diongo à se faire enrôler, ce qui constitue un préalable avant toute participation aux échéances électorales à venir.

Alors que son état de santé se dégrade, Franck Diongo est transféré le 18 août 2017 vers un centre médical spécialisé. Mais, pendant le traitement, il est arraché de force de son lit d’hôpital le 31 août 2017 et reconduit à la prison centrale de Kinshasa. Diongo y est toujours détenu. Son état de santé se détériore.

Share Button