This platform is an initiative of five Congolese civil society organisations: the Congolese Association for Access to Justice (ACAJ), Action for Transparent and Peaceful Elections (AETA), Filimbi, Congolais Débout, and Fight for Change (Lucha).

To contact us:
+243 974 23 33 90
info@electionsrdcongo.com

Évariste Kalala Kwete

Évariste Kalala Kwete

Lawyer and UDPS member

About

This lawyer and member of the UDPS was abducted in the night of 8 to 9 May 2018 in his family compound in Kinshasa by a group of armed men, some of whom were in civilian clothes while others wore police uniforms.
The men got out of eight police jeeps and broke the windows and padlocks on the front door before bursting into the home. After recognizing James Kalala, they took him to an unknown destination. The unfortunate person is now being held at the ANR, but he is not entitled to family visits and does not have access to a lawyer. Nor is the reason for his arrest known to date.

Share Button

Cette plateforme est une initiative de cinq organisations de la société civile congolaise : l’Association congolaise pour l’accès à la justice (ACAJ), Agir pour des élections transparentes et apaisées (AETA), Filimbi, Les Congolais débout, et la Lutte pour le changement (Lucha).
Pour nous contacter :
+243 971 422 656
info@electionsrdcongo.com

Évariste Kalala Kwete

Évariste Kalala Kwete

Avocat et membre de l'UDPS

Résumé de l'affaire

Cet avocat et membre de l’UDPS a été enlevé dans la nuit du 8 au 9 mai 2018 dans sa parcelle familiale, à Kinshasa, par un groupe d’hommes armés, dont certains étaient en tenue civile et d’autres portaient des uniformes de police.

Ces hommes sont descendus à bord de huit jeeps de la police et ont cassé les vitres et les cadenas de la porte d’entrée, avant de faire irruption dans la maison. Après avoir reconnu James Kalala, ils l’ont emmené vers une destination inconnue. L’infortuné est maintenant détenu à l’ANR, mais il n’a pas droit aux visites familiales et n’a pas accès à un avocat. Le motif de son arrestation n’est pas non plus connu.

Share Button