This platform is an initiative of five Congolese civil society organisations: the Congolese Association for Access to Justice (ACAJ), Action for Transparent and Peaceful Elections (AETA), Filimbi, Congolais Débout, and Fight for Change (Lucha).

To contact us:
+243 974 23 33 90
info@electionsrdcongo.com

Carbone Beni

Carbone Beni

National Filimbi coordinator

About

He was arrested on 30 December 2017 along with five other activists while mobilising Kinshasa residents to attend peaceful protests scheduled the next day following a call from the Catholic Church’s Lay coordination committee (CLC). Two of them were released, but Carbone Beni, national Filimbi movement coordinator, and his three comrades from the same citizens’ movement, Grance Tshunza, Mino Bompomi and Cédric Kalonji, were detained at the ANR and denied the right to receive visits from their families and access to their lawyer.

In January 2018, Carbone Beni spent several days in an ANR medical facility to treat injuries following his brutal arrest. Lower abdominal pain had become increasingly severe during the month of March. On 1 May 2018, he was taken to the Ngaliema clinic in Kinshasa, where doctors diagnosed him with hernia and appendicitis. The next day, the activist was transferred to the Diamant hospital for surgery.

On 7 June, Carbone and his three companions of misfortune were transferred to the Gombe prosecutor’s office in Kinshasa and subsequently to the capital’s central prison. According to their lawyer, they are accused among others of “contempt of the head of state” and “breach of state security.” Their appeal for provisional release was rejected.

Share Button

Cette plateforme est une initiative de cinq organisations de la société civile congolaise : l’Association congolaise pour l’accès à la justice (ACAJ), Agir pour des élections transparentes et apaisées (AETA), Filimbi, Les Congolais débout, et la Lutte pour le changement (Lucha).
Pour nous contacter :
+243 971 422 656
info@electionsrdcongo.com

Carbone Beni

Carbone Beni

Coordinateur national de Filimbi

Résumé de l'affaire

Il a été arrêté le 30 décembre 2017, avec cinq autres activistes, alors qu’ils mobilisaient des habitants de Kinshasa pour des manifestations pacifiques prévues le lendemain, à la suite de l’appel du Comité laïc de coordination (CLC) de l’Église catholique. Deux d’entre eux ont été libérés, mais Carbone Beni, coordinateur national du mouvement Filimbi, et ses trois camarades du même mouvement citoyen, Grance Tshunza, Mino Bompomi et Cédric Kalonji, ont été maintenus en détention à l’ANR, sans possibilité de recevoir la visite de leur famille ni d’avoir accès à leur avocat.

En janvier 2018, Carbone Beni a passé quelques jours dans un centre médical de l’ANR pour soigner les blessures à la suite de son arrestation musclée. Des douleurs au bas ventre s’étaient aggravées au cours du mois de mars. Le 1er mai 2018, il a été conduit à la clinique Ngaliema de Kinshasa, où des médecins lui ont diagnostiqué une hernie et une appendicite. Le lendemain, l’activiste a été transféré à l’hôpital Diamant pour une intervention chirurgicale.

Le 7 juin, Carbone et ses trois compagnons de fortune ont été transférés au parquet de la Gombe, à Kinshasa, et, plus tard, à la prison centrale de la capitale. Selon leur avocat, ils sont accusés notamment d' »outrage au chef de l’État » et d' »atteinte à la sûreté de l’État ». Leur demande de liberté provisoire a été rejetée.

Share Button